Meaningful Memento | Yogyakarta

2011. I decided to go on a journey to a new place, Yogyakarta.

Having a study in a completely different place is not common for some people, including me. 17 years, I never even once go too far from my house, my family, whenever I go to school.

2011. I chose to be brave, taking a new step in a new place, hoping that I can become more independent person in the future.

start-a-journey

The 5-year-journey is recorded clearly in my mind. The first time I greet my friends. The first time I experience a difficulty of talking in a different language, eventhough it’s still in the same country. The first time I meet different people across various regions.

Yogyakarta. The place where I was evolved a lot to be a better person, thanks to the great environment and great people.

Yogyakarta. The place, the city where I was mesmerized by its own different charms. The people who often smiles at you, when you don’t even know them. The deep rooted cultures that makes you in awe, because every citizen keep it mantained for years. The needs for food and life supplies that makes you wondering and pondering of how cheap everything is. Last but not the least, friends, colleagues and people around me who always makes Yogyakarta the best place to stay at. Double happiness, if I may say. The internal factors of Yogyakarta itself, plus the external factors, me and my friends who were nomads; learners in a college.

2016. Been three months since I went back to my home-sweet-home. Away from Yogyakarta, everything that happened during my 5-year-journey has flashed in my mind. The meaningful mementos from that journey are recorded in pictures, videos, and other things. If I have to choose on as a representative, I won’t be able to do it. Every memento I have, is an important representative of different events that happened.

I think I know why I’m in love with Yogyakarta. Aside from the friends whom I met there, I realized something that is absent in my origin city, that is manners. Not like there is totally no manners in my origin city, it’s just so rare to find it. That’s the most likeable thing that I like; a meaningful memento I’d like to remember for forever from my journey in Yogyakarta.

Goodbye, Yogyakarta. I’ll make sure I visit you again in the future. My wishes upon you, are to stay the same, maintain the great cultures and to stay changed, to be a better and better city in terms of public services.

See you, Yogyakarta, in the distant future.

via Discover Challenge: Finding Your Place

Leave a Reply

