The Soaring Pines

As I sit and look up to the sky, I collect my thoughts. The giant pine trees surround me, standing soaringly through the sky, reminding me of how people around me continue to grow to be a better person.

img_6471
Pine Trees, captured with my beloved-but-kinda-old iPhone 4S

Too often, I questioned myself whether I grow to be a better person or not. As if it isn’t enough of that question most of the time, the time where I supposed to loose my mind didn’t make me feel ease. I really adore people around me. Some of them are having their passion burning, doing something specific, achieve goals, gain confidence and trophy as bonus. Meanwhile, some of them are spendingย their time with hobbies or anything worth to do, dropping their sweats, growing their eyebags, wishing that every second they spend worth for their future.

Me?ย I am included in the latter part.

Doing things endlessly without knowing my passion is, was actually exhausting. I am really jealous of how people know their passion and do it happily.

As I was reminded but those thoughts,ย “Ah, if i have to compare, I am only a tiny plant whereas the others are giant trees”

After a few minutes, somehow I regain my conciousness in mind, telling something that hits me

There’s no point to compare ourselves with the others. It only brings you down and makes depression closer to you. Compare yourself today with yourself yesterday, or yourself a few months ago.

And that’s it. I talked to my friend as I continue to wander, moving from that sitting place to enjoy the view and life. I looked to the sky once again, smiling ear to ear and whispering, “Thank you”.

P.S.

I enjoyed view of Pines on Imogiri, Bantul, Yogyakarta. The story I write in this post has some of my real thoughts, but at that time I sat, the thing that came to my mind is how to not be an arrogant person because I am still not, and never be good enough to be arrogant, while people around me who is good enough do not even have time to be arrogant. I changed it a bit because the story I wrote reflecting my current thoughts and portraying the photo best other than my thoughts that time.

Here is another photo I took.

img_6475
Pines everywhere

Not my best photo *sigh*. I wish I can visit Yogyakarta again, some time in the future.

15 thoughts on “The Soaring Pines

  1. Nice post! I can relate. I now know what my passion really is and I take steps to pursue it, but I’m still tempted to compare myself with others. Writers that were already geniuses at my age or younger and whatnot… that’s just discouraging.
    Comparing me to myself a year or more ago is much more relevant and constructive. Motivating even. I see how much I have evolved and I am happy.

    • Thanks for your review :)) sometimes i still have many temptations of comparing myself to others. Nothing we can do about it but to work even harder and be a better self. Yes it’s more relevant to compare withing ourselves. Let’s work hard for our passion ! May we get better and enjoy doing our own passion ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hello ! Yes the nature heals, and the healing process sometimes bring back myself to the past where regrets and mistakes lied. I’ve just left a feedback on your post, thanks anyway for your comment, have a good day !

Leave a Reply

